Chasing a Photograph and Catching Light

 

CNV00026 - Version 2

 

I’ve made a start on the design of my book with Victoria and the editing process is about to begin. I still have a few unfinished ideas floating around in my head. If they are to stand a chance of making it into the book; I have to pluck them out quick and get them onto film. The book is all about a single colour and as an end shot I like the idea of using a rainbow to emphasise the full spectrum. I took a picture about six months back on my phone. It’s of my daughter with a rainbow of light over her eye. It was a quick snap, as the sun came into the bedroom one morning, and bounced off the edge of the mirror on my jewellery box. It was early summer.

Now it’s mid January and the sun no longer reaches around to the bedroom window. I’m desperate for some direct light. In deepest darkest winter my window of opportunity has decreased drastically . I know that the back of the house gets direct sun from about 1-4pm. I know because each time it comes out I watch it, in envy. By the time Ruby is home from school the light has gone. To stand a chance of getting a shot we are down to weekends.

And weekends have a habit of getting filled up with life. But I am desperate for this final shot. It’s Saturday. The sun is out. I grab the jewellery box and find a tiny pool of light coming through the bathroom window. I make Ruby sit there on the bathroom floor, trying to catch the rainbow on her face, but I’m seven months pregnant, my body awash with hormones, tiered and with no patience. I’m short with her and command her into different positions. I’ve lost it. I’ve lost the skill of making the process any fun. She sits, grumpy face, but still there doing this for me, to help her mum. I feel dreadful, and shoot one frame before the sun goes in behind a cloud. The light has gone and I give up.

Later the light shines through her bedroom window lighting up a doll’s house. I curse it. The next weekend I ‘book it out’ for photography. I tell Tony this is what I need to do. It’s my sole focus. But will the sun even come out? Saturday after lunch we have sun! I leave the lunch stuff and we run upstairs to the bathroom. I muster all my patience. we talk about her, about how strong she is, about what a fast runner she is. We catch the rainbow. I exhale.

I don’t know if I’ll use this shot. It doesn’t matter. I did it – we did it.

 

7 days till my Kickstarter campaign… if it all goes to plan..

 

 

IMG_2841

Leave a Reply

