Bad Weather and Camera Failure.

<;;;;

It's not been a great couple of weeks for my book project. Camera 1 (Mamiya 7) has been off for repair, which meant – no shooting, as the whole project has been shot on this. Now it's back camera 2 (Fuji X100) is being sent off for repair too.

Trying to make photographs using daylight, between dark grey skys and rain showers is difficult to say the least. Winter has well and truly set in. So I am concentrating my efforts on trying to get writers on board. I am looking for 4-5 writers from different fields to write the supporting text for my book.

These photos above, are from a shoot I did a couple of weeks ago. I photographed three sisters in their house. It was the day my Mamiya packed up, so these are digital test shots. I'm going back this weekend to make the final shots. All three girls were fantastic – really interesting and a joy to photograph.

Other news this week…
Martin Parr is hot on my heals! He is to set up his own pop up portrait studio. He is setting up a temporary studio at the Rocket Gallery in London, to coincide with his latest exhibition. He is aiming to photograph 96 portraits in one day at £375 per print.
They do say imitation is the greatest form of flattery.

6 comments
  1. Impressed you are shooting your book on film…
    Just downloaded my Martin Parr portrait form, are you game..?

    • Yeah me too! It’s bloody expensive.
      A portrait by Parr! Would be fun…

  2. David Drake said:

    But would you pay £375 for a Martin Parr print? It’s not about the money, or the chink-a-chink-a-ching! Sun will shine again soon. D David Drake Director http://www.Ffotogallery.org

    • Hi David,

      Thank you. Yes, the sun will come out, but possibly not till March. For any descent amount of time anyway…

      Despite all my feelings about Mr Parr. If I had the money I probably would pay £375 for a portrait – maybe a family one. Although he’s not really a portrait photographer. I think it would be interesting to see the results, as people will probably expect to be in a Martin Parr picture. A portrait in a studio might be disappointing..

      Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you read it.

      Kirsty

  3. I met Martin Parr recently and although I have a lot of respect for him as a photographer and his work I was not overblown by his personality! A bit of a disappointment.

    • He’s definitely not a people person! Not ideal for shooting portraits.

Leave a Reply

