Farewell Pop Shop

I have now finished shooting all the work for my Pop up Portrait Studio. Altogether I photographed 280 people with ages ranging from 3 months to 86 plus one dog. I used 5,022 frames, one canvas backdrop (6ft, which I can now put up myself), 4 rolls of gaffer tape, no assistant, a Fuji X-Pro1 with 60mm lens, but mostly the 35mm lens.

I went into this project with a very open mind, not knowing who I would photograph, so unable to predict what the finished work would be. Now that I have shot all the work the most likely format at this stage is an exhibition of the work, possibly in one of Bristol’s empty shop units – pop up styley of course. I’m going to make a small book dummy of the work over the summer, but this will probably be just for me as a way of presenting the work in my portfolio.

I would like to say a huge thank you to all the people who took part the project and allowed me to photograph them. Thanks to Photographique for kindly printing each person’s portrait. Also thank you to Helen Wood at Talk PR for arranging the loan of the X Pro-1. I have grown quite attached to it now, but it is all boxed up and ready to be sent back. I had better start saving up..

2 comments
    • You are spot on Wendy. Someone mentioned Grant Wood’s American Gothic when I was out doing the pop up and spookily I have a shot that I call ‘Girl with the Silver Earring’. Seems like these portraits are in my mind somewhere and get triggered when I photograph certain people.

Leave a Reply

