Who’s Photograph is this?

When you take a portrait of someone there is always the question – ‘Who is the photograph for?’ This is exactly what I have been working out in my Pop Up project. The idea of the project is to give each person I photograph a nice portrait of themselves, whilst I also get an interesting photograph, that I can use as part of a larger project. To start with I was too worried about each sitter getting a good picture. I was hopping around trying to get a good angle and make a good picture. The result was too fashiony and try hard. As the days have gone on I have been able to relax a bit and gain the confidence to just set up the camera, and allow some space for the person to be who they are, and hope that some of that will seep into the photograph. The photographs are now less about me and more about them, which I think only comes with a bit of time.

I should also say that these images are just rushes. They are not final images. As I am shooting such a large volume for this project I will only process them at the end when I have done a final edit. So they might look a little too light and they’ll have more depth than this, but as I starting point I am really happy with them and I am loving shooting with the Fuji X-Pro1. I’ll be doing a proper review of it in the next couple of weeks…

Leave a Reply

