The Pop up Portrait Studio

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In a couple of weeks I’ll be starting a new project – The Pop up Portrait Studio. Fuji Cameras are letting me get my hands on their brand new X-Pro 1 digital camera. I already use the X100s, so I’m really excited to test drive this new model, which unlike the X100s comes with interchangeable lenses including a lovely portrait lens (equivalent to 90mm on 135 format) – perfect for my portrait work.

I will be setting up a makeshift portrait studio in Bristol’s city centre and inviting anyone and everyone to have their portrait taken by me for free. It’s a huge project to take on, as I am aiming to do at least 20 portraits a day over a one month period.

The photographs above were taken several years ago at the St Mark’s Rd street party in Bristol. I set up my Polaroid camera in the street and offered passersby a free Polaroid. It was a great way to work as people just assumed I was part of the festivities. These photos and this way of working created a spark in my imagination that is now becoming a reality in The Pop up Portrait studio.

1 comment
  1. Hello there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

